The Inbox feature works as a notification hub where users receive in-app updates for the workspace events they have enabled in their profile settings - for example, new messages in conversations, new task comments, due tasks, file comments, approvals, etc.
Clicking a notification in the Inbox opens the related resource directly so users can quickly reply or take action there.
Inbox Overview
When you open your in-app Inbox, you’ll see all your in-app notifications grouped in four different categories: Chats, Tasks, Files, and Updates.
Clicking on each tab reveals the relevant notifications:
Chats - new messages and mentions in Conversations.
Tasks - new tasks created, comments and mentions in tasks, task assignments to you, task list changes, tasks completed or reopened, and task due reminders.
Files - new comments, mentions, and comment replies on files, file approvals or revoked approvals, comments resolved or reopened, and new file uploads to folders.
Updates - successful or failed invoice payments, quotes accepted.
Note
To receive notifications about these events, you need to be added to the resource through the Share button (or be its author) and have your corresponding notifications enabled in your profile settings.
To learn more about task notifications, see How to Receive Notifications About Tasks.
Quick Actions
At the top of the Inbox panel, you’ll find three quick action buttons and the Settings button.
Here’s how they work:
Archive All Notifications - Use this option to archive all notifications in the currently selected tab.
Mark all notifications as read/unread - If there’s at least 1 unread notification in the currently selected tab, the option to mark all notifications there as read will be displayed. Otherwise, the button switches its functionality to Mark all notifications as unread.
Filter notifications - Use the filter to display only certain notifications chosen by one of the available criteria:
Author - sent by Anyone, Client, or a Member
Status - All notifications, or only the Unread
Settings - Under the Settings button, you’ll find the following options:
Change the Inbox layout to suit your preferences. You can switch between:
Organized, showing all 4 tabs - Chats, Tasks, Files, and Updates;
Simplified, showing 2 tabs - Messages (includes all notifications for Conversations) and Updates (includes all other available notifications).
View Archive - open the Inbox Archive to view all archived notifications. There you can also filter messages by Author and delete all archived notifications.
View Notification Preferences - open and adjust your profile notification preferences.
Empty Inbox - clear all notifications in your in-app Inbox.
Individual Message Actions
Clicking on any notification will open the corresponding resource on the right side of the notifications panel. There, you can interact with it the same way you would when opening the resource normally.
Hover over each message to reveal:
The quick action button to Archive this particular notification;
The More options menu (three-dot button), allowing you to mark the notification as read/unread or delete it.
On hover, you’ll also see the notifications checkbox on the left, allowing you to select one or many notifications and manage notifications in bulk.
The available actions after selection include:
Archive - move the notifications to the Inbox archive;
Mark as read or unread;
Delete permanently.
The Client’s Inbox
The Inbox for clients is more simplified than the one for team members, keeping it focused on the most essential and relevant information for them.
Clients can open their notifications panel using the Notifications button (bell icon) in the top-right corner of their sidebar.
There, they can choose whether to display all notifications or only the unread, and also use the Mark all as read option.
At the top of the panel, they can also use the Settings button to open their profile’s notification settings, or close the panel.
Below, they’ll see the list with all available notifications. Clicking on them will open the relevant resource for which the notification was sent.
Here, you can learn more about the different notification types and settings for members and clients: Notification Settings in Kitchen.
Need help? Message support.
