Once you have created a Conversation in Kitchen, you can customize its appearance to match your preferences, branding, and workflow.
You can find all available customization options below.
Customize Your Conversation Icon
There are a few different ways to change your Conversation icon to distinguish it more easily.
Option 1:
Open the Conversation.
Click on the icon on the left of its title to change it.
From there, you can:
Choose from existing icons
Change the icon color
Use an emoji
Upload your own image
Add an image from a URL
Paste an image directly using Ctrl/Cmd + V
Tip
Small square images work best for icons.
Option 2:
Open the Conversation.
Click the More options button (three-dot icon).
Select Customize Icon to choose a new one from the available options, or upload your own.
Option 3:
You can also update a Conversation’s icon from the sidebar.
Hover over the Conversation in the sidebar.
Click the More Options (three-dot) menu.
Select Customize Icon.
Option 4:
You can access the same Customize Icon menu for a Conversation while in a folder.
Open the folder where the Conversation is.
Click on the Conversation’s More options (three-dot) menu.
Select Customize Icon.
Rename a Conversation
Here’s how you can rename a Conversation:
Option 1:
Open the Conversation.
Click directly on its name.
Edit the title.
Press Enter or click outside to save.
Option 2:
Open the Conversation.
Click the More options (three-dot) button in the top-right corner.
Select Rename.
Option 3:
Hover over the Conversation in the sidebar.
Click the More options (three-dot) button.
Select Rename.
Option 4:
The Rename option can also be accessed while in a folder, without opening the Conversation.
Open the folder where the Conversation is.
Click on the Conversation’s More options (three-dot) menu.
Select Rename.
Add or Edit Description
You can add more context to a conversation through a description. The description is visible in the conversation’s parent folder and other listings.
You can add one in a few different ways:
Option 1:
Open the Conversation.
Click the More options (three-dot) button in the top-right corner.
Select Rename.
Add the description, and once done, click Save or press Enter.
Option 2:
Go to the sidebar.
Click the More options (three-dot) menu next to the Conversation.
Select Rename.
Add the description, and once done, click Save or press Enter.
Option 3:
Open the folder where the Conversation is.
Click on the Conversation’s More options (three-dot) menu.
Select Rename.
Add the description, and once done, click Save or press Enter.
Customize Message Appearance
You can customize the appearance of messages and notes in Conversations to make them suit your branding and workflow.
To do so:
Open the Conversation.
Click the Customize button (palette icon).
Click Messages.
There you’ll find the quick buttons to change the color of client and member messages and notes. Clicking them opens the color picker where you can choose one of the predefined colors, enter a color code, or use and manage saved custom colors.
Through the tune icon button on the right, you can access the additional message settings to customize each part of all the message types individually.
The live preview updates as you change the colors of the background, names, metadata (such as the date and time), and message text.
To reset all message colors to their defaults, you can use the reset arrow at the top.
Customize the Conversation’s Empty State
With the Empty State settings, you can customize how a Conversation with no messages looks to other users.
To access the Empty State settings:
Open the Conversation.
Click the Customize button → Empty State.
There, you have the options to:
Edit the Title field to customize the title displayed when a Conversation is empty.
Customize the title color by using the color palette, choosing from predefined colors, or adding your own custom color.
Edit the description text, choose its color, and decide whether it should be displayed at all using the tune icon button. You can also reset your changes at any time.
Customize the Empty State icon. You can choose its color and select an icon from the available options, including emojis, your own uploaded icon, an icon from a URL, or an image from your clipboard.
You can also disable the icon’s visibility in the Conversation’s empty state.
The set preferences will also apply to the mobile app and will be visible to everyone the Conversation is shared with.
To reset all Empty State settings, click the reset arrow at the top of the pop-up window.
Adjust the Available User Actions
With the settings for User Actions, you can control which actions users can perform in the Conversation. These settings apply to everyone added to the Conversation.
To access them:
Open the Conversation.
Click the Customize button → User Actions.
There, you’ll find the following options:
Attachment Comments:
Allows users to comment on attachments sent in messages. If disabled, users won't be able to leave comments on attached files, and all existing comments will be hidden.Attachment Approvals:
Allows users to approve files in attachments.
Adjust Client Settings
The Client Settings allow you to customize the client experience additionally.
To access them:
Open the Conversation.
Click the Customize button → Client Settings.
The available settings include:
Show Users with Access:
When enabled, clients can see the other users who have access to that specific Conversation, including their avatar, name, and email.
If you turn this option off, clients won't be able to see the other users invited to that Conversation.Show Share Button:
When enabled, clients can see the Share button and request access for other people. Any invite request will require approval from a workspace admin.
If disabled, the Share button will be hidden from clients.
Note
These settings are individual for each Conversation.
Have questions? Reach out to support.
